Ubuntu: Awesome Support but noticeable compatibility issues

As you may have read in one of my earlier posts, I had fallen in love with Ubuntu.  Up until recently, I have been using Ubuntu for everything from web browsing to web design.

Regretably, I’ve been noticing that a lot of my hardware, in my Dell XPS 410 is not supported in Ubuntu (sound card, printer, etc…). The Ubuntu forums provides tons of “solutions” for hardware problems, but either I don’t have the expertise, the solutions don’t apply to me, or I have to add 20 lines of code to a certain system critical file.    I’m not saying that Ubuntu is a terrible OS, but I’m saying its a terrible OS for my PC and my patience.

I’m sure there are people who will be reading this who have the same PC as me and can’t figure out why I’m having so much trouble.  When it comes down to it, I work 10 hour days and don’t get home till 6pm at night.  Once I’m home I usually like to hop on my computer and shoot the shit with friends.  Sometimes I’m put in a situation where someone wants to talk on Skype.  I have an account from when I had XP and installed it on Ubuntu.   As it turns out, Ubuntu doesn’t support my sound card and it won’t recognize my mic.  So I googled solutions and found 100s of pages of restults.  I tried about 10 of them just to be left frustrated and let down.  Next thing I know its time to turn in for the night.  Now on the otherhand, I have Ubuntu 8.10 running on my Dell Inspiron B130 without any problems.   It does what I need it to and couldn’t ask for more from it.

Now I’m back using XP on my XPS and am loving how everything seems to be compatible.  No longer do I need to do custom editing on files.  Most problems can be fixed by downloading a program or driver.  Although, I’m experiencing a noticable performance defficiency in XP as compared to Ubuntu.  Overall, I’m happy with XP and will stick with it for my primary PC.

What are your experiences with Ubuntu as compared to XP?

3 Responses to Ubuntu: Awesome Support but noticeable compatibility issues

  1. eddrumheller says:

    Ubuntu and Linux in general suffers from some major problems. These problems have nothing to do with the quality of coding, or those who work on it. It has to do with official support from manufacturers that you see for Windows. Most of the time drivers have to be reverse engineered for your hardware, which of course takes time, and isn’t going to be perfect. However recently it has been getting better. When I installed 8.10 for the first time, I had every major component working. Only my webcam and OLED screen on my keyboard didn’t work by default. My Epson printer even worked which was great. I can’t say the same for XP, Vista or even Windows 7. (7 being by far comparable, with only 1 or 2 drivers needed.)

  2. Bobby Blu-ray says:

    I haven’t tried Ubuntu yet, but I do have Fedora installed on a dual-boot (with Windows 7 Professional x64) and everything is working. AMD’s proprietary Linux driver hangs the system with version 16 (it worked in version 15) so I had to uninstall it for now.

    It took 40 hours to get the Rosewill RNX-N180UBE wireless adapter working but eventually it did.

  3. Bobby Blu-ray says:

    I installed Ubuntu on the Pavilion Slim (Foxconn H67S mainboard); so far, so good. Both the 5450 video card and the Rosewill USB wireless adapter work.

Leave a Reply

